Codex Alera series / Jim Butcher

Title / Furies of Calderon, Academ’s Fury, Cursor’s Fury, Captain’s Fury, Princep’s Fury and First Lord’s Fury
Author / Jim Butcher
Overall Star Rating / ★★★ 
This is a six book coming-of-age fantasy series set in the realm of Alera, where everyone has great powers called Furies (elemental beings), except the main character Tavi. A fifteen year old boy (in book 1) who has to rely on his wits when the Alerans’ enemy, the Marat, return to the Valley. I would say it is aimed more towards adult audiences, as it contains slavery, rape, cannibalism and violent combat, however I think that it can be enjoyed by a variety of readers and ages.
  •  This series has one of the best character arcs I’ve read (in my opinion), because through the six books we see Tavi progress from being a 14/15 year old boy to a man in his mid to late twenties. For me, the characters and their arcs are one of the best things about this book – to see them change and develop is really interesting. To see all the characters grow up is so enjoyable. I think it makes you care about them even more.
  • Not only are the character arcs great, the characters themselves are amazing. In this series is an incredible array of characters who are all well written and engaging. I love that there are different cultures in this book series too – they are all interesting and add so much depth to the books. Tavi and Kitai are two of my favourite characters.
  • There is a interesting magic systems centred around furies. Furies are elemental spirits and each grants you different powers. For example Water lets you communicate over long distances, heal etc, Air allows you to fly, Earth allows you to track and Fire can be used to manipulate passionate emotions – among other things. It is probably one of my favourite magic systems.
  • I also really enjoyed the war elements of this – it has a lot of military tactics and strategies, especially in the later books which I personally find fascinating. However I know that some people find it quite boring, so keep that in mind. I felt these details were done very well and I enjoyed it alot.
  • The plot is engaging throughout. It never dragged, at least for me it didn’t. I loved all the books equally and really enjoyed seeing how things progressed. Years sometimes pass between the books but you never feel like you have missed anything. I was also very satisfied with the conclusion.
  • This is a fast paced high fantasy series that will keep you engaged to the very end. As I mentioned earlier it is a six book series but I never felt it was too long. I loved every minute of it.
I highly recommend this series.  I read it last year and hope to reread it in the next year or so. It has some of my favourite character arcs and I think it is quite an underrated fantasy series. It is not perfect but I really enjoyed it. If you are looking for a new high fantasy series then you should check this out.
Have you read this series? What did you think?
See you next time

5 thoughts on “Codex Alera series / Jim Butcher

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s