Machinations series / Hayley Stone

Hi guys, it is time for another review. I picked up this series on a bit of a whim and I am really glad I did so I thought I would share my thoughts on it with you guys. I came across it on Netgalley a while back and it sounded like something I might like so I requested it. Now as far as I am aware this series currently only available as an ebook, and you can get it pretty cheaply on a kindle. Onto the review.
Title / Machinations and Counterpart
Author / Hayley Stone
Publication Date / 2016
Overall Star Rating / 
Goodreads synopsis of book 1: Perfect for fans of Robopocalypse, this action-packed science-fiction debut introduces a chilling future and an unforgettable heroine with a powerful role to play in the battle for humanity’s survival.
 
The machines have risen, but not out of malice. They were simply following a command: to stop the endless wars that have plagued the world throughout history. Their solution was perfectly logical. To end the fighting, they decided to end the human race.

 

I have to admit that I did not have a high hopes going into this book, but I thought I would try it anyway. I was pleasantly surprised. I ended up really enjoyed this series. It is definitely not perfect but I found it to be a quick, engaging and enjoyable read. I loved that it starts right in the middle of a load of action – it really immerses you in this new world where machines have taken over. To be completely honest there is nothing new in terms of the story, but I thought Hayley Stone did this story well and so I still enjoyed the reading experience of both books. The world building was fine. It could have done with some work but it was enough to keep the series engaging. One of the things I enjoyed the most about this series is the plot. There may be nothing new about it and it may not be perfect, but I found it to be very entertaining throughout. It is was just an incredibly enjoyable and engaging read for me.
One of the things I enjoyed about this series were the characters. Both the main characters and the side characters were generally well written. I loved Rhona as a character. Her sarcasm was a pleasure to read. As quite a sarcastic person myself, I love a good sarcastic character. The pining for her lost love did get a little frustrating at times but that is a minor complaint. I am very interested to see how she progresses. There is a suggestion of a love triangle, which I strongly dislike, but at least there is no going back and forth between which guy she likes. I would have much preferred if there was a purely platonic relationship between certain characters. The whole series so far is definitely a bit too romance centred for me. So if that is not your thing, then maybe steer clear of this. Normally I am not a big romance reader but something about this worked for me. Perhaps although it is very romance focused, it is not just a romance book. I’m not entirely sure. The angst can be too much at times, though. I especially found that to be true in the second book, where it is even more frustrating. While reading it, I very much enjoyed it though. It’s only looking back now that I realise how romanced focused it is.

 

Overall this has ended up turning into a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. I know it is not perfect and it’s not normally something I enjoy, but I liked it. If you are looking for a quick, enjoyable dystopian/sci-fi read, then you should check this out. So far as I am aware it is only available as an e-book and you can get it really cheap on a kindle.  I hope you are having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

 

Pippa

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Machinations series / Hayley Stone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s