Series I’ve finished this year

Hi guys, I hope you are all well. Today I’m going to share all of the series I finished this year. I managed to finish six series this year, which I’m pretty happy with. Most of them I just needed to read the last book but a couple I started and finished this year. Let’s get started.


The Greatcoats series / Sebastien de Castell / ★★★
Traitor’s Blade, Knight’s Shadow, Saint’s Blood and Tyrant’s Throne
Goodreads synopsis of book 1: Falcio is the first Cantor of the Greatcoats. Trained in the fighting arts and the laws of Tristia, the Greatcoats are travelling Magisters upholding King’s Law. They are heroes. Or at least they were, until they stood aside while the Dukes took the kingdom, and impaled their King’s head on a spike. Now Tristia is on the verge of collapse and the barbarians are sniffing at the borders. The Dukes bring chaos to the land, while the Greatcoats are scattered far and wide, reviled as traitors, their legendary coats in tatters. All they have left are the promises they made to King Paelis, to carry out one final mission. But if they have any hope of fulfilling the King’s dream, the divided Greatcoats must reunite, or they will also have to stand aside as they watch their world burn…


The Echoes of the Fall trilogy / Adrian Tchaikovsky / ★★★★.5
The Tiger and the Wolf, The Bear and the Serpent and The Hyena and the Hawk
Goodreads synopsis of book 1: In the bleak northern crown of the world, war is coming. Maniye’s father is the Wolf clan’s chieftain, but she’s an outcast. Her mother was queen of the Tiger and these tribes have been enemies for generations. Maniye also hides a deadly secret. All can shift into their clan’s animal form, but Maniye can take on tiger and wolf shapes. She can’t disown half her soul, so escapes – with the killer Broken Axe in pursuit. Maniye’s father plots to rule the north, and controlling his daughter is crucial to his schemes. However, other tribes also prepare for strife. It’s a season for omens as priests foresee danger, a time of testing and broken laws. Some say a great war is coming, overshadowing even Wolf ambitions. But what spark will set the world ablaze?


The Fitz and the Fool trilogy / Robin Hobb / ★★★
Fool’s Assassin, Fool’s Quest and Assassin’s Fate
Goodreads synopsis of book 1: Tom Badgerlock has been living peaceably in the manor house at Withywoods with his beloved wife Molly these many years, the estate a reward to his family for loyal service to the crown. But behind the facade of respectable middle-age lies a turbulent and violent past. For Tom Badgerlock is actually FitzChivalry Farseer, bastard scion of the Farseer line, convicted user of Beast-magic, and assassin. A man who has risked much for his king and lost more…
On a shelf in his den sits a triptych carved in memory stone of a man, a wolf and a fool. Once, these three were inseparable friends: Fitz, Nighteyes and the Fool. But one is long dead, and one long-missing. Then one Winterfest night a messenger arrives to seek out Fitz, but mysteriously disappears, leaving nothing but a blood-trail. What was the message? Who was the sender? And what has happened to the messenger? Suddenly Fitz’s violent old life erupts into the peace of his new world, and nothing and no one is safe.


The Initiate Brother duology / Sean Russell / ★★★
The Initiate Brother and Gatherer of Clouds 
Goodreads synopsis of book 1: Plague and warfare have swept across the the ancient kingdom of Wa, and the peace of the Empire is threatened. Only Initiate Brother Shuyun, a mystically gifted Botahist monk, can save the Empire and his own order from complete annihilation.


The Queens of Renthia trilogy / Sarah Beth Durst / ★★★
The Queen of Blood, The Reluctant Queen and The Queen of Sorrow
Goodreads synopsis of book 1: An idealistic young student and a banished warrior become allies in a battle to save their realm in this first book of a mesmerizing epic fantasy series, filled with political intrigue, violent magic, malevolent spirits, and thrilling adventure.


The Faithful and the Fallen series / John Gwynne / ★★★★.5
Malice, Valour, Ruin and Wrath
Goodreads synopsis of book 1: The Banished Lands has a violent past where armies of men and giants clashed in battle, but now giants are seen, the stones weep blood and giant wyrms are stirring. Those who can still read the signs see a threat far greater than the ancient wars. For if the Black Sun gains ascendancy, mankind’s hopes and dreams will fall to dust… and it can never be made whole again. Malice is a dark epic fantasy tale of blind greed, ambition, and betrayal.



I loved each of these series and I’m pretty happy that I’ve managed to complete each of these series. I still got plenty of series I’m in the middle of though. Have you read any of these series? I’d love to know what you thought. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.







5 thoughts on “Series I’ve finished this year

  1. Great post! One of my goals this year was to finish some series, I may have to do a post along these lines near my year end wrap up. 🙂

    I really want to read some of Sarah’s stuff next year! I met her recently and she’s such a lovely person.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s