Riyria Chronicles / Michael J. Sullivan

Title / The Crown Tower, The Rose and the Thorn, The Death of Dulgath & The Disappearance of Winter’s Daughter.
Author / Michael J Sullivan
Publication Date / 2013, 2013, 2015 and 2017
Series or standalone / 4 books
Overall Rating / 
Above links are affiliate links to Wordery and Waterstones. I will recieve a small commission if you use these links when purchasing books. 
This is a four book fantasy series set in the fictional world of Elan. It follows the adventures of Royce (a thief) and Hadrian (a mercenary). The first book introduces the reader to the start of their relationship. It is the prequel series to the Riyria Revelations, also by Michael J. Sullivan. Since it is a prequel series the two are obviously related but they are also two separate series. You can either start with the publication order of the books by starting with the Riyria Revelations series or you can start with the chronological order of events by starting with the Riyria Chronicles. Personally I started with the publication order of the books.


I recently caught up with this series by reading The Disappearance of Winter’s Daughter and I wanted to share some thoughts on this fantastic series since I haven’t already. First thing I have to mention is the main duo, Royce and Hadrian. It was so good to be back with these characters. I love their relationship so much and Sullivan has done such a wonderful job at developing it throughout the series. I read the Riyria Revelations series before this one and I loved that we got to see where it all began in these books. Their banter is always fantastic and their dialogue is consistently great. There are quite a few funny moments between the two main characters. I know when I start any of these books that I am in for a super entertaining read. The plot is compelling throughout and each book is as good as the last, if not better. Each book is a standalone adventure. These books are quite traditional in term of the fantasy genre, but it does it so well. Sullivan does a fantastic job at writing a fantastic adventure for both old and new readers – these books are so easy to get into. The world is another strength of this series and I love the way Sullivan has expanded on it in each book. Throughout the series we learn more and more about the world of Elan. Lastly the writing is fantastic and I always find it so easy to settle into the flow of the story. 


Overall I love this series and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I would obviously also recommend checking out the Riyria Revelations series too. A fifth book, Drumindor, is planned but there is no release date yet. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for its release.I’m sorry this is quite a short review but I wanted to share my thoughts anyway. Have you read any of these books? I’d love to know what you thought. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.





3 thoughts on “Riyria Chronicles / Michael J. Sullivan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s