5 reasons to start the Licanius trilogy / James Islington

Titles / The Shadow Of What Was Lost, An Echo Of Things To Come and The Light Of All That Falls
Series / Licanius trilogy
Author / James Islington
Publisher / Orbit
I recently finished the Licanius trilogy and I really enjoyed it, so I thought I’d share 5 reasons to start reading it, if you haven’t started it already. Side note but I love these covers.
  • Each book is as good, if not better than the last. This is the author’s debut trilogy, which is pretty impressive considering the depth and intricacies of the world and plot.
  • This is a multiple perspective story with distinct character voices. These books are full of well written, complex characters. Islington weaves together the switches in character perspectives well and I found each chapter as compelling as the last. The character development throughout the three books is a highlight of the trilogy.
  • The world and magic system is wonderfully written and I loved finding out more about them throughout the three books. There are quite a few different magic systems and it is so impressive that Islington can give each of them such depth.
  • Although there is a fair amount of complexity to these books, they are still accessible and I would recommend them to both new and old fantasy readers.
  • Basically this is a fantastic fantasy trilogy and I would highly recommend checking it out. I would recommend reading the three books in relatively quick succession as the plot is quite complex at times and you may forget some things before picking up the next book.
I also love that a summary of the history and plot of the previous book is provided in the sequels, so you can quickly refresh your memory on what is happening. Overall I really enjoyed this trilogy so I wanted to share some thoughts on it. Have you started this trilogy? I’d love to know what you thought. I hope you are all having a wonderful day and I will see you next time.

5 thoughts on “5 reasons to start the Licanius trilogy / James Islington

  1. Yes!! I’m so glad that you loved this trilogy too. It’s definitely one of my favourite trilogies ever. The complexity was incredible but yet done so well that it’s not inaccessible at all.


  2. Thanks, good recommendation – I will add them to my list! The audio version is read by the excellent Michael Kramer (narrator of the Mistborn trilogy) which is an added bonus if you enjoy audiobooks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s